Online Course: Weekly instructions

Print Friendly

Welcome to Your Brand: More Than Just a Name! We are so glad you have chosen to join us!

Ready to get started? Your instructions for each week will be added under a new tab. Simply click on the tab and you will find links to everything you need to participate in the course.

Week 1

Week 1 – What defines your brand?

Estimated time needed for completion: 5 hours over the course of one week
Deadline for completion of this session: Friday, September 8.

Objective: Students will discover how brands are being defined today, discuss the importance of truly knowing their brand and audience, and be introduced to brand elements and archetypes.

Background reading:

1) Read Chapter 1: Introduction and Chapter 2: The 10 New Realities of The Brand Flip by Marty Neumeier.

Participate in Live Session:

You will receive an invitation to join the meeting by email.

• Saturday, September 2, 9:00 a.m. US Central Time. (approx. 1 hour) See conversion chart below for the time in your area.
(OR watch the recording available September 2, 12:00 p.m. You’ll need this password: MTI-training)

Tokyo, Japan    Saturday, Sept 2, 11:00 pm
New Delhi, India        Saturday, Sept 2, 7:30 pm
Nairobi, Kenya        Saturday, Sept 2, 5:00 pm
Lagos, Nigeria        Saturday, Sept 2, 3:00 pm
New York, USA (EDT)    Saturday, Sept 2, 10:00 am
Chicago, USA (CDT)        Saturday, Sept 2, 9:00 am
Denver, USA (MDT)        Saturday, Sept 2, 8:00 am
Los Angeles, USA (PDT)    Saturday, Sept 2, 7:00 am

Assignment:

Take the brand personality quiz at http://brandpersonalityquiz.com/. Be sure to read the directions carefully. Remember to drag and drop the answers in order of their relevance to your brand. Your dominant brand archetypes will be given at the end along with the strength of correlation for each. Review the details on your master brand archetypes. Turn in the details of your archetype and the correlation strength of each. Also, provide a short essay on why you agree or disagree with the findings of the test.

• Due: Friday, September 8.
• Save your assignment with your name in the file name as a JPG or PDF file and email to jrobinson@magazinetraining.com

Visit the course forum: MTI Your Brand Online Course Group

You will use the forum to ask questions and interact with Terumi Echols and your classmates. You will need to log in to Facebook.

• Introduce yourself this week. Include information such as your publication name, whether it is a planned publication or already in existence, and a bit about yourself.

Week 2

Week 2 – Who is your customer?

Estimated time needed for completion: 5 hours over the course of one week
Deadline for completion of this session: Friday, September 15.

Objective: Develop your customer / buyer personas to determine your idea target to keep your brand focused and on mission.

Background reading:

1) Read Part 2: Leading the Tribe The Brand Flip by Marty Neumeier.

Participate in Live Session:

You will receive an invitation to join the meeting by email.

• Saturday, September 9, 9:00 a.m. US Central Time. (approx. 1 hour) See conversion chart below for the time in your area.
(OR watch the recording available September 9, 12:00 p.m. You’ll need this password: MTI-Training)

Tokyo, Japan    Saturday, Sept 9, 11:00 pm
New Delhi, India        Saturday, Sept 9, 7:30 pm
Nairobi, Kenya        Saturday, Sept 9, 5:00 pm
Lagos, Nigeria        Saturday, Sept 9, 3:00 pm
New York, USA (EDT)    Saturday, Sept 9, 10:00 am
Chicago, USA (CDT)        Saturday, Sept 9, 9:00 am
Denver, USA (MDT)        Saturday, Sept 9, 8:00 am
Los Angeles, USA (PDT)    Saturday, Sept 9, 7:00 am

Assignment:

Develop customer IAM (Interests, Aims, Mores).

• Due: Friday, September 15.
• Save your assignment with your name in the file name as a JPG or PDF file and email to jrobinson@magazinetraining.com

Visit the course forum: MTI Your Brand Online Course Group

You will use the forum to ask questions and interact with Terumi Echols and your classmates. You will need to log in to Facebook.

Week 3

Week 3 – What makes your brand unique?

Estimated time needed for completion: 5 hours over the course of one week
Deadline for completion of this session: Friday, September 22.

Objective: Determine your brand’s uniqueness and how it impacts your reach and sustainability.

Background reading:

1) Review Part 2: Leading the Tribe The Brand Flip by Marty Neumeier.

Participate in Live Session:

You will receive an invitation to join the meeting by email.

• Saturday, September 16, 9:00 a.m. US Central Time. (approx. 1 hour) See conversion chart below for the time in your area.
(OR watch the recording available September 16, 12:00 p.m. You’ll need this password: MTI-Training)

Tokyo, Japan    Saturday, Sept 16, 11:00 pm
Nairobi, Kenya        Saturday, Sept 16, 5:00 pm
Lagos, Nigeria        Saturday, Sept 16, 3:00 pm
New York, USA (EDT)    Saturday, Sept 16, 10:00 am
Chicago, USA (CDT)        Saturday, Sept 16, 9:00 am
Denver, USA (MDT)        Saturday, Sept 16, 8:00 am
Los Angeles, USA (PDT)    Saturday, Sept 16, 7:00 am

Assignment:

Read Authority vs. Authenticity and do the Authenticity Scorecard; Processes vs. Values and create your company values; create your POV (Purpose, Onlyness, Values) and compare it to your IAM (Identity, Aims, Mores) —Is there anything out of line? What is required to reshape and refocus your company?

• Due: Friday, September 22.
• Save your assignment with your name in the file name as a JPG or PDF file and email to jrobinson@magazinetraining.com

Visit the course forum: MTI Your Brand Online Course Group

You will use the forum to ask questions and interact with Terumi Echols and your classmates. You will need to log in to Facebook.

Week 4

Week 4 – What does success look like to you?

Estimated time needed for completion: 5 hours over the course of one week
Deadline for completion of this session: Friday, September 29.

Objective: Determine your business drivers and discuss how to develop a plan to reach your customer however they come in contact with your brand and how to maintain a consistent brand presence.

Background reading:

  1. Read Designing the Way Forward

Participate in Live Session:

You will receive an invitation to join the meeting by email.

• Saturday, September 23, 9:00 a.m. US Central Time. (approx. 1 hour) See conversion chart below for the time in your area.
(OR watch the recording available September 23, 12:00 p.m. You’ll need this password: MTI-Training)

Tokyo, Japan    Saturday, Sept 23, 11:00 pm
Nairobi, Kenya        Saturday, Sept 23, 5:00 pm
Lagos, Nigeria        Saturday, Sept 23, 3:00 pm
New York, USA (EDT)    Saturday, Sept 23, 10:00 am
Chicago, USA (CDT)        Saturday, Sept 23, 9:00 am
Denver, USA (MDT)        Saturday, Sept 23, 8:00 am
Los Angeles, USA (PDT)    Saturday, Sept 23, 7:00 am

Assignment:

Develop your brand experience map.

• Due: Friday, September 29.
• Save your assignment with your name in the file name as a JPG or PDF file and email to jrobinson@magazinetraining.com

Visit the course forum: MTI Your Brand Online Course Group

You will use the forum to ask questions and interact with Terumi Echols and your classmates. You will need to log in to Facebook.